Subscriber login

Local News
What you need to know for 01/19/2018

Voters decide Victory will remain a village

Voters decide Victory will remain a village

Tuesday was election day for many village officials around the region, and for one village, it was t

Tuesday was election day for many village officials around the region, and for one village, it was time to decide on the future.

A proposition to dissolve the village of Victory and have it become part of the town of Saratoga at the end of 2014 was defeated, 143-83.

“I’m very pleased,” said Maureen Kemmet, village clerk and treasurer. “The village provides so many services.”

Victory’s current mayor, James Sullivan, did not seek re-election. He endorsed dissolving the village to provide tax savings for its 605 residents and eliminate duplication of services.

Mayoral candidate Patrick Dewey, running on the Republican line, defeated Democrat challenger Malcolm Salls, 128-89 votes, according to unofficial results. Dewey is currently a village trustee.

Incumbent Trustee Timothy Healy defeated challenger Patricia Jolie-Zotzmann, 131-90.

Elsewhere in Saratoga County:

Schuylerville Mayor John Sherman was re-elected, defeating challenger Charles Sherman, no relation, 190-117, according to unofficial results.

In a four-way race for two trustee seats, incumbent James Miers, with 148 votes, and Andrew Jennings, with 215 votes, both running on the Republican line, defeated Dan Carpenter, with 128 votes, and Paul Flanders, with 120 votes, both running on the Democratic line.

South Glens Falls Mayor Keith Donohue, running on the Bulldog Pride line, was defeated by Republican challenger Joseph Orlow, 255-149. When Donohue failed to receive the village Republican committee’s endorsement, he ran on an independent line. Anthony Girard and Edward J. LaFave, meanwhile, were elected to two trustee seats, unopposed.

Schenectady County

The village of Delanson elected Gayle Gifford its new mayor, replacing outgoing Mayor Sally Burns. She beat Ron Holbrook, 49-40. With 76 votes, Josh O’Conor was elected to a single open trustee seat. He ran unopposed.

Fulton County

• With only 25 voters turning out, the village of Broadalbin re-elected Eugene Christopher for mayor. He ran unopposed. Thomas Folts and Theodore Bochenek were elected to two open and unopposed trustee seats with 23 votes each.

• The village of Mayfield elected Paul Wilde and Emory Chase to two open and unopposed trustee seats. Wilde received seven votes. Chase got eight.

Montgomery County

• The village of Canajoharie re-elected two incumbents to two trustee seats — Jena Coppernoll and former mayor Ronald Dievendorf, with 36 and 30 votes, respectively. Village Justice Jay Myers ran unopposed and was re-elected with 34 votes.

• The village of Hagaman elected village trustee Michael Shover its new mayor, ousting incumbent Martin Natoli Sr., 144-101. Kathleen Louer and Paul J. Fryzel were elected to two open trustee seats, with 149 votes and 150 votes, respectively. Richard Conti, who also ran for a trustee seat, narrowly lost with 146 total votes.

• The village of Nelliston re-elected incumbent trustee Russell Vance with 26 votes. He ran unopposed.

Schoharie County

• The village of Richmondville re-elected Mayor Kevin Neary with 45 votes, and Trustees Imer Rivenburgh and Natasha Foote, with 37 votes and 46 votes, respectively. All ran unopposed.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In