<> Parisi among Football Hall of Fame inductees | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login

High School

Parisi among Football Hall of Fame inductees

Parisi among Football Hall of Fame inductees

Former Mont Pleasant fullback Tony Parisi will be among 14 players inducted into the Capital Region

Former Mont Pleasant fullback Tony Parisi will be among 14 players inducted into the Capital Region Football Hall of Fame in August.

Line star Matt Tarullo of Col-onie, record-setting quarterback Don Kehn of Watervliet and state championship-winning coaches Frank Derrico of Amsterdam and Jack Burger of Troy will be also join the 24-member class announced by the Capital District Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Parisi played football for three varsity seasons and led Mont Pleasant to a 6-0 record as a senior in 1949. He also earned three varsity letters in baseball, and played both sports at Holy Cross. Parisi was the catcher on Holy Cross’s 1952 NCAA title-winning team.

Parisi was a two-sport coach at Mont Pleasant and served as a social studies teacher and administrator in the school district before his passing in 1990 at the age of 58. He was inducted into the Schenectady Baseball Club Hall of Fame in 1991 and the Schenectady City School District Athletic Hall of Fame in 1999.

The Capital Region Football Hall of Fame’s fourth class will also feature players Rashad Barksdale (Hudson), Mike Burke (Lake George), Scott Dmitrenko (Shenendehowa), David Gamble (Colonie), Gary Guenther (Shaker), Rob Harrington (Cambridge), Jim Hisgen (Christian Brothers Academy), John Kraham (Chatham), Stan Lewza (LaSalle), Shyron Sanford (Bishop Maginn) and Jamarr Ward (Amsterdam), and John Millett (Whitehall) in the head coaching category.

The list of honorees will also include assistant coaches Ed Dempsey (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake) and Gene Stafanacci (Shenendehowa), and officials Mike Cronin (Adirondack) and Matt Fitzgerald (Capital District). Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk coach and Section II football chairman Gary VanDerzee will be inducted in the service to football category, and Harry J. Gully Jr. (North Troy) and Roger Holcomb (Cambridge) will be inducted in the service to youth football category.

The Aug. 10 induction ceremony will take place at Michael’s Banquet House in Latham, starting at 6. Tickets are $45. Contact Nick Fitzgerald ([email protected], 260-1231) for more information.

Scott leads class

Longtime coach and athletic director William R. Scott, Olympic speedskaters Richard and John Wurster, and a pair of championship teams will be inducted into the Ballston Spa Athletics Hall of Fame in May.

Scott instituted the athletic program at Ballston Spa in 1940, and coached football and baseball at the school. Though he retired from the district in 1976, he served as a football assistant through the 1999 season. The school’s teams, the Scotties, are named in his honor. Ballston Spa’s football field also bares his name. Scott died in 2008 at the age of 97.

The hall of fame’s inaugural class will also include three-sport stars John Caputo, Patsy Monaco and Allan Durkovic, and coaches Richard Thomas, Vince Johnson and James Funiciello. The 1963-64 boys’ basketball team that won Class B and Class A-B titles, and the girls’ 2010-12 Alpine ski team that won Section II and state championships, will be lauded, as well.

The May 4 ceremony and reception (3-5 p.m.) will take place at Ballston Spa High School.

Schoff’s record broken

New York Gatorade Player of the Year and Miss New York Basketball Award winner Saniya Chong of Ossining set a state single-season scoring record and then added to it in her final high school basketball games.

Chong passed former St. Johnsville star Caryn Schoff for points in a season when she netted 34 in an 86-69 win over Gates-Chili in the NYSPHSAA Class AA title game at Husdson Valley Community College. That effort gave Chong 902 points. Schoff netted 892 as a senior during the 1994-95 season.

Chong boosted her season total to 928 points after scoring 26 in a 70-65 loss to Bishop Ford in Saturday’s Federation tournament Class AA championship game at the Times Union Center.

The University of Connecticut-bound Chong made 108 three-point baskets this season, and eight times scored 40 points or more.

Award winners clash

The state’s top award winners squared off in the boys’ Class AA Federation final Saturday, with Mr. New York Basketball Jon Severe scoring 28 points to lead Christ the King past Long Island Lutheran, 73-64. Lutheran’s Kentan Facey, the New York Gatorade Player of the Year, managed 16 points and seven rebounds.

Severe poured in 40 points in a 68-55 semifinal win over Bishop Kearney, and set a Federation two-game scoring record. The 6-foot-9 Facey had 19 points, 15 rebounds and 10 blocked shots in a 73-55 semifinal win over Lincoln.

Jablanski signs

Tyler Jablanski of state Class B soccer co-champion Ichabod Crane signed last week to attend Aldephi University of the Northeast 10.

Jablanski was named the Col-onial Council Most Valuable Player and the Section II Class B Player of the Year, and earned a spot on the all-state first team. The senior midfielder also landed a spot on the state tournament all-star team after picking up assists on the last two goals in the Riders’ 3-1 semifinal win over Susquehanna Valley.

Jablanski started for four seasons, and as a sophomore and junior made the Colonial Council first team.

Jablanski and Justyn Verbraska served as Ichabod Crane’s co-captains. Verbraska has signed with The College of Saint Rose, another Northeast 10 member.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.