Subscriber login

Welcome to our new site. You will need to reset your password if this is your first time logging in. Please click here to reset your password.
Local News
What you need to know for 01/16/2017

Nearly 400 Capital Region drivers face loss of licenses

Nearly 400 Capital Region drivers face loss of licenses

Almost 400 drivers in the Capital Region need to pay up their back taxes or they won’t be able to dr

Almost 400 drivers in the Capital Region need to pay up their back taxes or they won’t be able to drive.

The state is starting the process of suspending drivers’ licenses if they have a past-due tax liability of more than $10,000. The crackdown stems from legislation signed into law earlier this year.

“Our message is simple: tax scofflaws who don’t abide by the same rules as everyone else are not entitled to the same privileges as everyone else,” said Gov. Andrew Cuomo in a news release.

“These worst offenders are putting an unfair burden on the overwhelming majority of New Yorkers who are hardworking, law-abiding taxpayers,” he said. “By enacting these additional consequences, we’re providing additional incentives for the state to receive the money it is owed and we’re keeping scofflaws off the very roads they refuse to pay their fair share to maintain.”

By threatening to suspend driver’s licenses, the state is expecting to increase its tax collections by $26 million this fiscal year and up to $6 million a year in the future.

In the Capital Region there is more than $20 million owed in taxes from 385 individuals. The largest portion of this is in Albany County, where about $8.4 million is owed by 153 individuals. Also:

• Saratoga County has 120 delinquent filers owing $5.7 million.

• Schenectady County has 62 filers owing $4.64 million.

• Fulton County has 22 filers owing about $648,000.

• Montgomery County has 18 filers owing about $630,000.

• Schoharie County has 10 filers that owe about $187,000.

The first round of suspension notices to delinquent taxpayers are being sent out by the New York State Tax Department. Delinquent filers have 60 days to arrange payment or they will receive a letter from the state Department of Motor Vehicles letting them know they have 15 days to arrange payment or their driver’s license will be suspended.

You have 0 articles 1 articles 2 articles 3 articles 4 articles 5 articles 6 articles 7 articles remaining of Daily Gazette free premium content.

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In