Subscriber login

Local News
School Closings

Increased interest credited for busy Fulton County primary

Increased interest credited for busy Fulton County primary

Voters in Fulton County municipalities — mostly Republicans — will have more than 30 candidates to c

Voters in Fulton County municipalities — mostly Republicans — will have more than 30 candidates to choose from during Tuesday’s primary election.

Three candidates each will be running for mayor in Johnstown and Gloversville, while others battle it out for ballot positions in the towns of Broadalbin, Caroga, Johnstown, Mayfield, Northampton, Oppenheim and Perth, according to a candidate listing from the Fulton County Board of Elections.

Democrats will see only one primary: in the town of Perth, where two candidates are vying for the Democratic Party line to run for highway superintendent.

Fulton County Republican Chairwoman Susan McNeil said the large number of primaries doesn’t reflect party disunity, but rather a high level of interest among potential candidates.

“I think more people are getting involved,” she said.

Republicans in Gloversville endorsed Michael A. Ponticello for mayor, but McNeil said the county party’s membership is waiting for the results of the primary before standing behind any candidate.

Next week’s polling will mark the start of a “big year” for elections in Fulton County, where McNeil said there are more than 90 candidates vying for seats.

The Board of Elections lists the following candidates in Tuesday’s primaries:

• Gloversville mayor: Ponticello, incumbent Dayton J. King and James E. Handy are running for the Republican line on the November ballot. King and Handy will also vie for the Conservative line on the ballot.

• Johnstown mayor: Scott Jeffers, Helen J. Martin and Larry Razzano are all seeking the Republican line to replace Mayor Sarah Slingerland, who is retiring.

• Broadalbin supervisor: Incumbent Joseph C. DiGiacomo will face a challenge for the Republican line from Thomas Christopher.

• Broadalbin Town Board: Voters will choose two candidates from a list of four seeking the Republican line: Drew C. Thompson, Tina Winney, Larry Ruzycky and Kimberly A. Verrego.

• Caroga Town Board: Four candidates seek to secure two spots on the Republican line: Tara L. Kaczor, Anthony J. Sturchio, Anthony Russitano and John L. Glenn.

• Johnstown Town Board: Republicans will choose two of three candidates seeking the GOP line: Walter T. Lane, James Westover and Clarinda L. Bellen.

• Mayfield Town Board: Two of three candidates will be selected to run on the Republican line: Steven D. VanAllen, Jack E. Putman and Vince Coletti.

• Northampton supervisor: James K. Groff will challenge incumbent Linda Kemper for both the Republican and Conservative lines.

• Northampton Town Board: Three candidates are running for two spots on the GOP line: Guy Poulin, Art Simmons and Darryl L. Roosa.

• Oppenheim supervisor: Walter H. Rumrill Jr. will challenge incumbent George E. Capek for the Republican line.

• Oppenheim highway superintendent: Leo Miller is challenging incumbent Richard L. Crum Jr. to secure the Republican line.

• Perth highway superintendent: In the only Democratic Party primary this season, incumbent David D. Dopp faces a challenge from Stanley A. Korona Jr. for a spot on the November ballot.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In