Subscriber login

High School
What you need to know for 01/23/2018

High schools: Sabres capture own tourney

High schools: Sabres capture own tourney

State finalist Vinny Gallo and Alex Lambert both went 4-0 to help Schalmont win its own dual meet to

State finalist Vinny Gallo and Alex Lambert both went 4-0 to help Schalmont win its own dual meet tournament Saturday.

The Sabres won all four of their matches, defeating Bethlehem (45-35), Coxsackie-Athens (75-6), Scotia-Glenville (84-6) and Lansingburgh (69-10).

Bethlehem went 3-1, Lansingburgh was 2-2, Coxsackie-Athens finished 1-3 and Scotia went 0-4.

Schalmont fell behind Bethlehem, 19-0, before J.T. Heller pinned at 152 pounds in the fifth bout.

The Sabres won the next four bouts to pull ahead, and after Bethlehem’s Chris Tangora pinned at 220 to put Bethlehem ahead, 27-25, Marcus Ramundo pinned at 285 and Schalmont got two forfeits to seal the match. Kevin Paskevich, Dom Friello, Paul Lambert, Tim Flower and Sean MacDonald added 3-0 days for Schalmont.

Tangora, Rowan Braga, Jack Canova, Tristan Canova, Gabe Naviasky and Parker Tangora all went 4-0 for Bethlehem.


Schalmont 4-0, Bethlehem, 3-1, Lansingburgh 2-2, Coxsackie-Athens 1-3, Scotia-Glenville 0-4.


Watervliet went five-for-five to take the team title, beating runner-up Amsterdam, 51-24, in the fourth round.

Lucien Loeper, Ryan Hojack, Josh Sawyer, Paul Gordon and Tyler White all won five times for the Cannoneers, with Hojack racking up four pins. Heavyweight

Tyler Chasten also pinned four times in going 4-1.

Derek Gleason and Tyler Touzin also went 4-1.

Amsterdam went 4-1 to finish second, beating Rensselaer (66-21), South Glens Falls (65-24), Galway (53-33) and Fonda-Fultonville (53-30). John Rivera, Chris Garrison and Dom Santiago all finished 5-0 for the Rams. Jorge Rivera and Joe Kelly were 4-1.

Fonda placed third, led by Zak Shaw, who went 5-0 with four pins and a forfeit win. Nate Rose and Thomas TenEyck both won four times for the Braves.

The host Eagles went 2-3, with Dillon Palaszewski, Steven Culbert and Andrew Gichrist all getting five wins.

Culbert had three pins.


Watervliet 5-0. Amsterdam 4-1, Fonda-Fultonville 3-2, Galway 2-3, South Glens Falls 1-4, Rensselaer 0-5.


St. Anthony’s of South Huntington won the team title with a 4-1 record, beating Cobleskill-Richmondville (51-36), Warrensburg (55-18), Guilderland (54-18) and Peru (47-26), and losing to Duanesburg on criteria after a 38-38 draw.

Duanesburg was 2-3, also beating Guilderland (54-26), while losing to Warrensburg (49-30) and Cobleskill-Richmondville (40-39). The Bulldogs were third, losing on criteria to Warrensburg after both teams went 3-2.

Zach Lawrence, Andrew Mollevik and Connor Lawrence all went 5-0 for Duanesburg. Jason St. John and Jacob Karandy were 4-1.

Tanner Shufelt and 285-pounder Zach McFarland were 5-0 for the Bulldogs, with Zac Cooper, Brandon Merchant and Taylor Epting all compiling 4-1 marks for the day,

Guilderland sectional champ Josh LoGiudice was 5-0, as was teammate Colton White.


St. Anthony’s 4-1. Warrensburg 3-2, Cobleskill-Richmondville 3-2, Peru 3-2, Duanesburg 2-3, Guilderland 0-5.


Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake went 5-0 on the first day of the two-day event at Colonie.

The Spartans beat Indian River (51-22), Levittown Division (46-28), Schenectady (65-15), Colonie (36-29) and Hudson Falls (51-29).

State bronze medalist Joey Butler, Nate Sisler, Jake Ashcraft, and Anthony Papa all went 5-0 for BH-BL, with Christian Gramuglia, Danny Jada, Mason Rabideau, Nico Fragale and Roz Warren all 4-1.

Sisler gave Paul Citone his lone loss of the day, 4-0. In that match, Jada edged Tahla Hafeez, 5-4, at 113, and Papa decisioned Isaiah Cooks, 6-3 at 182.

Colonie’s John Mullally edged Fragale, 6-5, at 220. Mullally was 4-1 for Colonie, losing to Logan Kunkle of Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk.

Wayne Burt and 285-pounder Austin DiCerbo were the only two Colonie wrestlers to win five times.

Keanu Cordova and Josh Reed both went 4-1 for Schenectady, which was 1-4.

Queensbury went 3-2, beating Division, Schenectady and Indian River, and losing to Saranac (42-30) and Minisink Valley (56-16).

Franky Nassivera, Eric St. John, Derrick Finnegan, Dillon Deckert and Chris Goudy all were 4-1, with Kody Bruno 3-2.

Geno Brancati was 4-1 for Hudson Falls, losing to Achcraft, 7-4.


Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 5-0, Minisink Valley 5-0, Saranac 4-1, Colonie 3-2, Levittown Division 3-2, Queensbury 3-2, Schen­ectady 1-4, Hudson Falls 1-4, Ravena 0-5, Indian River 0-5.


Hadley-Luzerne/Lake George had five champions from nine finalists to win the team title.

Niskayuna had champs in Eoghan Sweeney (126) and Khaled Abdoun (220), with Thomas Minahan (99) and Anthony Laniewski (138) second. Sweeney beat DII sectonal champ Garon LeClair of Corinth.

Troy DeBlock (132) gave Canajoharie/Fort Plain an individual winner, with Jon Payack (113) second.

Team scores: Hadley-Luzerne/Lake George 288, Schuylervillle 163, Canajoharie/Fort Plain 121. Niskayuna 118.5, Greenville 111, Corinth 101, Mechanicville 99, Maple Hill 65, Queensbury 53.5, Glens Falls 50, Albany Academy 42, Cambridge 35, Voorheesville 8.

Individual results

99 — Orion Anderson (Sch), Thomas Min­ahan (Nisk), Connor Speilburg (HL), Daniel Motta (Mec). 106 — Anthony Cardinuto (Sch), Richie Conte (HL), Phillip Warren (MH), Collin Smith (Cor). 113 — Gideon Jardine (HL), Jon Payack (CFP), Connor Hughes (Sch), Ian McIlhenny (Gre). 120 — Jake Hurlbury (Sch), Rocco Cavalluzzi (Gre), Garrett Swift (HL), Ahmed Lachgar (AA). 126 — Eoghan Sweeney (Nisk), Garon LeClair (Cor), Jordan Healy (MH), Ed Rolle (CFP). 132 — Troy DeBlock (John), Pat Norton (GF), Jon Law (Q), Isaiah Papol (Gre). 138 — Tyler Mulcahy (Cor), Anthony Laniewski (Nisk), Gordon Trahan (CFP), Dom Nassivera (Q). 145 — Bayley Kuylendall (Gre), Todd Woodcock (HL).

152 — Jason Hoffman (HL), Tyler Green (Sch), Tim Jones (Nisk), Alec Blanchard (Cor). 160 — Alex Olsen (HL), Josh McIlhenny (Gre), Ryan Scotto (AA), Devin Gaudette (Mec). 170 — Chris Kawola (Mec), Jordan Griswold (CFP), Mike Sutliff (HL), Jake Pertralia (Sch(, 182 — Forrest Kubricky (HL), Jeremy Morris (MH), Tyler McCarty (Cor), Matt Farrell (GF). 195 — Jason Zakrzewski (Sch), Tom Clark (HL), Dan Hayner (Mec), Ethan Myers (Nisk). 220 — Khaled Abdoun (Nisk), Patrick Barber (HL), Brandon Farrell (Mec), Nathan Winchester (Cam). 285 — Tyler VandenBogaard (HL), Larry Messer (Sch), Derrick Therrien (Gre), Trent DeBlock (John).

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In