Subscriber login

What you need to know for 01/19/2018

Four Union hockey players named to All-America squad

Union Hockey

Four Union hockey players named to All-America squad

Dutchmen defensemen Mat Bodie and Shayne Gostisbehere, left winger Daniel Carr and goalie Colin Stev

It was an All-America day for four Union hockey players in the birthplace of the United States.

Dutchmen defensemen Mat Bodie and Shayne Gostisbehere, left winger Daniel Carr and goalie Colin Stevens were named to the East All-America squad on Friday. It’s the most All-Americas the Dutchmen have had in one season. It tops the three they had in 2012, when Bodie, center Jeremy Welsh and goalie Troy Grosenick made it.

Bodie, who was on the second-team two years ago, made the first team along with Gostisbehere. Bodie, a senior and team captain, has seven goals and 30 assists this season. He has a three-game goal-scoring streak heading into tonight’s NCAA championship game against Minnesota at the Wells Fargo Center.

Gostisbehere, a junior, was a second-team selection last year. The Philadelphia Flyers prospect was the co-winner of the ECAC Hockey Player of the Year and Best Defensive Defenseman awards. Gostisbehere, who had two assists in Thursday’s 5-4 semifinal win over Boston College, has eight goals and 23 assists.

Carr and Stevens, who are first-time All-Americas, made the second team. Carr, a senior, leads the team in scoring with 22 goals and 27 assists. He is the Dutchmen’s all-time leading scorer in the Division I era with 156 points. His 49 points are the most ever produced by a Union Division I player in a season. He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the ECACH tournament.

Stevens, a junior who is from Niskayuna, took over as the Dutchmen’s No. 1 goalie this season after Troy Grosenick signed with the San Jose Sharks last spring. Stevens has a 27-4-2 record with a 1.99 goals-against average, a .930 save percentage and a team-record six shutouts. He won the Ken Dryden Award as the ECACH’s top goalie, the third Union goalie in four years to do so. Grosenick won in 2012, and Keith Kinkaid took it in 2011.

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute junior forward Ryan Haggerty was named to the second team. Haggerty, who is now with the New York Rangers, led the Engineers in scoring with 28 goals and 15 assists. He was the top goal scorer in ECACH play with 14.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In