<> UAlbany's Richards named AE Player of Year for third time | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


UAlbany's Richards named AE Player of Year for third time

UAlbany's Richards named AE Player of Year for third time

University at Albany senior Shereesha Richards capped her career in style on Friday night as she bec

VESTAL — University at Albany senior Shereesha Richards capped her career in style on Friday night as she became just the second player in America East Conference history to be named Player of the Year in three straight seasons.

The conference’s major awards and all-conference teams were announced at the annual awards banquet at Binghamton University’s Events Center. Binghamton is hosting the America East women’s tournament this weekend.

Richards joins Chantell Alford of Boston University as the only three-time America East Player of the Year honorees.

Binghamton head coach Linda Cimino became the second Bearcat head coach to be named Coach of the Year and first since Rich Conover in 2003-04. Joining Cimino as a major award winner was sophomore Alyssa James, who earned Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Stony Brook freshman Ogechi Anyagaligbo earned Rookie of the Year honors, while Albany sophomore Tiana-Jo Carter rounded out the awards as the Sixth Player of the Year.

Richards leads the conference in scoring (22.8 ppg), ranks second in rebounding (8.6 rpg), fourth in field goal percentage (55.3%) and eighth in steals (1.8 spg), and also had nine double-doubles, best in the conference.

She scored 30 or more six times this season. including 41 points twice.

During her career at UAlb­any, Richards was named Rookie of the Year (2013), Player of the Year three times (2014, 2015, 2016), Defensive Player of the Year (2015) and was a three-time selection to both the all-conference first team and all-defensive team.

Carter is the second straight Great Dane to win the Sixth Player of the Year, as Imani Tate was last year’s recipient.

Carter averaged 8.7 points, 6.1 rebounds and 1.2 blocks during conference play, and shot 55.6 percent from the floor against league opponents, which was second-best in the America East

All-Conference teams

First Team

Shereesha Richards, Sr., UAlbany; Imani Tate, Jr., UAlbany; Sigi Koizar, Jr., Maine; Taylor McCarley, Jr., UMBC; Elizabeth Belanger, Sr., New Hampshire.

Second Team

Zakiya Saunders, Jr., UAlbany; Imani Watkins, So., Binghamton; Liz Wood, Sr., Maine; Pandora Wilson, Jr., UMBC; Brittany Snow, Sr., Stony Brook.

Third Team

Kim Albrecht, Sr., Binghamton; Alyssa James, So., Binghamton; Darby Lee, So., Hartford; Bella Swan, Sr., Maine; Lindsey Doucette, Sr.

All-Rookie Team

Rebecca Carmody, Binghamton; Lindsey Abed, Hartford; Ashley Storey, New Hampshire; Ogechi Anyagaligbo, Stony Brook (Rookie of the Year; Davion Wingate, Stony Brook.

All-Defensive Team

Richards, UAlbany; Tate, UAlbany; James, So., Binghamton (Defensive Player of the Year); Wood, Maine; McCarley, UMBC.


Skidmore 83, Frank. & Marshall 72

MEDFORD, Mass. — Down 19 points at the half, Skidmore rallied to beat No. 21 Franklin & Marshall to advance to the second round of the NCAA Division III tournament.

Edvinas Rupkus and Erik Sanders each scored 19 points for the Thoroughbreds (19-8), Marcus Jackson had a double-double of 10 points and 12 rebounds and Royce Paris added 15 points off the bench.

Brandon Federici led the Diplomats (22-6) with 31 points.


Sanders 6-3-19, Rupkus 4-10-19, Paris 4-7-15, Jackson 3-4-10, Morrow 3-0-8, Carp 2-2-8, Byrne 1-2-4. Totals: 23-28-33.


Federrici 9-10-31, Eggers 5-3-14, Tate 5-1-13, Moune 2-5-9, Wright 1-0-2, Hines 1-0-2, Beins 0-1-1. Totals: 23-20-72.

Halftime: Franklin & Marshall 44-25. Three-point goals: Sanders 4, Carp 2, Morrow 2, Rupkus, Federici 3, Tate 2, Eggers.


UAlbany 12, Elon 4

ELON, N.C. — The University at Albany jumped out to a 6-0 lead and cruised by Elon to pick up its first win of the season.

Dakotah Savitcheff and Julie Cryderman each scored two goals in the first 23 minutes to stake the Great Danes (1-1) to a big lead.

Cryderman finished with four goals, Savitcheff had three and Rachel Bowles added two goals and an assist to move into sole possession of thurd place on the UAlbany career scoring list with 187.

UAlbany 7 5 — 12

Elon 2 2 —  4

UAlbany scoring: Julie Cryderman 4-0, Dakotah Savitcheff 3-1, Rachel Bowles 2-1, Alie Jimerson 2-1, Sarah Martin 1-1, Emma Powlin 0-2, Elon scoring: Shelby Scanlin 1-0, Stephanie Asher 1-0, Kelsey Dupere 1-0, Sloane Kessler 1-0, Maeve Cowley 0-1.

Goalies: UAlbany, Courtney Henderson, 8 saves. Elon, Rachel Ramirez, 7 saves.


McDowell honored

SCHENECTADY — Union College Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Information Eric McDowell has been selected as this year’s recip­ient of the College Sports Information Directors of America Warren Berg award.

The Warren Berg award is presented annually to a CoSIDA college member who has made outstanding contributions to the field of college athletic communications, and who, by his or her activities, has brought dignity and prestige to the profession.

McDowell, a 2009 member of the CoSIDA Hall of Fame, has served CoSIDA in numerous roles, and was the first president in CoSIDA’s 59 year history to represent an NCAA Division III institution.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.