<> Schalmont shows up big at Killian Invitational | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Schalmont shows up big at Killian Invitational

Schalmont shows up big at Killian Invitational

High school sports roundup
Schalmont shows up big at Killian Invitational
Kathryn Tenney of Colonie approaches the finish line Saturday to win the girls' Division II Grout Run at Schenectady's Central Park.
Photographer: Peter R. Barber

Francisco Beltran of Schalmont was best among the boys, and the Sabres won the girls’ team championship Saturday at the John Killian Memorial Cross Country Invitational at Moreau Recreational Park.

Beltran covered the three miles in 15:28.91 to beat out Joel Graska of Corinth (15:35.59) and Evan Ensslin of Voorheesville (15:49.53).

Guilderland, with Andrew Horan running fifth (15:55.84), scored 63 points to take the boys’ team title.

The Schalmont girls, with Kerry Flower running fourth (18:32.94) and Emily Pahl running fifth (18:55.75), scored 63 points to edge Guilderland (66) and Saranac (68).

Regina Rosati of meet host South Glens Falls won in 17:57.15. Rachel Woodruff of Saranac (18:16.78) and Ashley Watson of Schuylerville (18:24.47) took the next two spots.

The Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys won the seeded AA championship race at the McQuaid Cross Country Invitational at Genesee Valley Park in Rochester.

The Spartans scored 82 points to win a division at McQuaid for the first time since 2010. New York City’s Xavier was second with 97 points.

Tyler Berg placed eighth (15:19.4) over three miles to lead Burnt Hills, the state’s No. 1-ranked Class B team. Other scorers were Evan Brennan (11th, 15:33.3), Nick Hunziker (12th, 15:33.4), Aidan Gillooley (19th, 15:39.4) and David Metacarpa (32nd, 16:00.4.



Teams: Guilderland 63, Scotia-Glenville 99, South Glens Falls 103, Schalmont 118, Voorheesville 120, Schuylerville 139, Hadley-Luzerne 161, Saranac 170, Corinth 230, Hoosic Valley 232.

Individuals: Francisco Beltran (Schal), 15:28.91; Joel Graska (Cor), 15:35.59; Evan Ensslin (Voor), 15:49.53; Antonio Beltran (Schal), 15:52.41; Andrew Horan (Guild), 15:55.84; Jacob Greski (SG), 15:58.97; Frank Triolo (SGF), 16:07.66; Andrew LePage (Sar), 16:21.38; Matt Tipton (Voor), 16:23.18; Spencer Swoboda (Schuy), 16:25.00.


Teams: Schalmont 63, Guilderland 66, Saranac 68, Schuylerville 117, Scotia-Glenville 118, South Glens Falls 129, Hoosic Valley 170, Voorheesville 209, Hudson Falls 227, Corinth 274.

Individuals: Regina Rosati (SGF), 17:57.15; Rachael Woodruff (Sar), 18:16.78; Ashley Watson (Schuy), 18:24.47; Kerry Flower (Schal), 18:32.94; Emily Pahl (Schal), 18:55.75; Carolyn Burnell (HV), 19:05.47; Sunni LaBounty (Schuy), 19:07.62; Heather Dutko (Sar), 19:12.50; Alexandria Vellekoop (Guild), 19:15.66; Margot Tanner (Guild), 19:20.12.


Led by tournament most valuable player Michelle Ferraino, Berne-Knox-Westerlo swept its way to the championship of its fourth annual Bulldog Blast Invitational.

The Bulldogs defeated Waterford-Halfmoon in the championship match 25-22, 18-25, 15-11.

In preliminary action, Berne-Knox-Westerlo beat Albany Leadership, 25-11, 25-19, 25-11 and Waterford-Halfmoon 25-20, 23-25, 25-23 to advance to the final.

Waterford-Halfmoon beat Albany Leadership 25-14, 25-6, 25-20 in its other preliminary. Waterford-Halfmoon also beat Albany Leadership 25-16, 25-10 in the semifinal match.

Amber Skinner and Christina Grippin of BKW made the all-tournament team.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake dropped a 25-16, 25-18 match to Our Lady of Mercy in the final of its Cider Challenge.

Burnt Hills took two sets from Scarsdale in the quarterfinals and two sets from RHAM of Connecticut in the semifinals.


In a Suburban Council game played Friday, Gabrielle Shaver and Moeka Suzuki scored in the first half, and Bethlehem held on to beat Columbia 2-1.

Alexa Reickert and Abbie

Kosoc had assists for the Eagles (5-6, 6-7). Jessy Blackburn scored in the second half for the Blue Devils.


Lexi Canavally scored two goals to lift Mohonasen over South Glens Falls 4-0 in a non-league soccer game Saturday.

Mohonasen generated all of its goals in the second half, with Lexi Dean and Josie DiLallo also connecting. Isabella O’Clair added two assists, and Milan Pfister made five saves for the shutout.

Syd Haskin and Rebecca Kelly had the goals, Jess Haskin picked up an assist, and Averill Park topped Queensbury 2-0 in another non-league game.

Megan Glanton made four saves for the Warriors.

Olivia Piraino scored in the sixth minute of the second overtime as Niskayuna salvaged a 1-1 non-league tie with Washingtonville.

Quinn Fowler scored in the third minute of the second overtime for Washingtonville.

Catholic Central beat Columbia 1-0 in a goal by Claudia Fountain in the second half.

Lake George beat host Schoharie in the championship game of the Kyle Sharpe Memorial Tournament 2-1 in double overtime.

Sarah Kohls and Nicole Nolin scored for Lake George. Lily Caza scored for Schoharie.

Abby Smith had a goal and two assists to lead Canajoharie past Middleburgh 3-1 in a Western Athletic Conference game.

Hannah Smith and Kiah Smith scored Canajoharie’s other goals. Olivia Hamm tallied for Middleburgh.

Natalie Ricci and Isabelle DeChiaro scored two goals apiece, and Cohoes beat Watervliet 9-1 in the Colonial Council.


Hunter Guertin and Tyler Helwig both scored twice and added an assist, and Devin Pierre made four saves as Waterford-Halfmoon beat Mechanicville 4-0 in a Wasaren League game.

Joey Espey-Vanier and Jordan Le also had assists in the Fordians’ fourth straight win, which boosted their league mark to 7-5. Mechanicville dipped to 9-3 in the league.

Willy Herrmann scored a goal in each half, and Glens Falls claimed the Falls Cup for the second year in a row with a 2-0 Foothills Council win over Hudson Falls.

Glens Falls outscored Hudson Falls 3-1 in two games to retain the trophy.

Liam Casey assisted on Herrmann’s first goal.

Schoharie claimed the championship of its Kyle Sharpe Tournament with a 2-1 shootout victory over Coxsackie-Athens.

Gregory Medak gave Schoharie a 1-0 lead in the second half and also sealed the win in the round of penalty kicks.

Kiefer Thorne scored the tying goal for Coxsackie-Athens in the second half.

Schoharie goalie Jake Fragnani was named the tournament most valuable player after making 14 saves. Anthony Bird made 12 saves for Coxsackie-Athens.

Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville beat Schenevus in the consolation game 2-1 on goals by Zack Mosher and Jack Brundage.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In