<> Benson's goals leads Shen soccer | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Benson's goals leads Shen soccer

Benson's goals leads Shen soccer

High school sports roundup
Benson's goals leads Shen soccer
Deirdre Rafferty of Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake defends Heidi Zahnleuter of Emma Willard in a Class B sectional semifinal Tuesday. Burnt Hills won 2-0.
Photographer: Peter R. Barber

David Benson scored twice to lead No. 2 Shenendehowa over No. 7 Ballston Spa 4-0 in Tuesday’s Section II Class AA boys’ soccer quarterfinals. Jake Akinyemi and Ky-Air Hamilton also scored for the Plainsmen, while Trevor Chung added a pair of assists.

Shenendehowa will next play Thursday against No. 3 Guilderland, which won 3-0 against No. 6 Niskayuna. Adam Couture, Antonio Lia and Tyler Landry each scored for Guilderland. Jimmy Joyce made eight saves in net for Niskayuna.

No. 1 Bethlehem also advanced to Thursday’s semifinals with a 2-1 win against No. 9 CBA. Kevin Piccolino and Derin Gumustop scored in the win, while Brady VanEpps scored for the Brothers.

Bethlehem will next play No. 4 Saratoga Springs, which topped No. 5 Shaker 1-0 in overtime. Nick Cavotta scored the game-winning goal in the 82nd minute off an assist from Simon Smith.

In the Class B semifinals, George Cox recorded a hat trick to lead No. 2 Ichabod Crane over No. 3 Schalmont 3-0.

Ichabod Crane will take on No. 4 Voorheesville, which defeated No. 1 Broadalbin-Perth 2-1, in the Class B final on Saturday at noon in Colonie.

Devin Holz scored for the Patriots in the first half, but Brandon Racey and Sean Nolan each scored in the second half to give Voorheesville the come-from-behind win against the top-ranked Class B team in the state poll.

In Class C semifinal action, No. 2 Mayfield defeated No. 6 Galway 2-0. Harrison Harper and Brendan Gifford each scored for the Panthers.

No. 1 Maple Hill topped No. 4 Lake George 1-0, setting up a Class C final between the Wildcats and Mayfield in Colonie on Saturday at 10 a.m. Garrett Axtmann scored Maple Hill’s goal.


In Class A semifinal action, No. 4 Mohonasen scored a goal in the final seconds to earn a 2-1 win against No. 1 Scotia-Glenville. Lexi Canavally scored the game-winning goal for Mohonasen, while Lexi Dean also scored in the win.

Mohonasen advanced to play in Friday’s 7 p.m. championship game at Stillwater against No. 2 Averill Park, which beat Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 2-0. Jessica Haskin and Morgan Catlin scored the goals for Averill Park.

In the Class D quarterfinals, No. 1 Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville downed No. 8 Doane Stuart 5-0. Addie Brundage and Alexis Romeyn each scored two goals in the win, while Julie Hickey had one goal and Abby Mosher had two assists.

OESJ will next play No. 4 Fort Ann, which defeated No. 5 Fort Plain 2-1 after trailing 1-0 at halftime. Emily Jackson and Kate Jackson netted tallies for Fort Ann.

No. 3 Northville topped No. 6 Saratoga Central Catholic in a come-from-behind 2-1 win. Kristen Maher tallied the lone goal early for her team, while Northville’s Jenna Forsey and Kerrigan Groff each scored in the second half.

Northville will next play No. 2 Bolton, which defeated No. 7 Salem 7-0 behind two goals apiece from Maria Baker and Gabrielle Mowery. Leah Monroe, Abigail Seamans, and Caitlyn Speranza each added a goal for Bolton.


In Tuesday’s Section II Class B semifinals, No. 1 Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake advanced 2-0 past No. 4 Emma Willard.

Christine Pedone and Gabby Angerosa each scored in the win, while Rachel Kamppila made a pair of saves in the shutout.

Burnt Hills will play in Sunday’s championship game against No. 2 Queensbury, which won 4-1 against No. 3 Scotia-Glenville.


Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons won the boys’ team title and Duanesburg won the girls’ team title at the Western Athletic Conference championship meet in Fort Plain.

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Jonah Allard won the boys’ race to lead his team, finishing in 15:59.12. Gage Cuomo added a top-10 finish for Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons, taking seventh place in 17:18.60.

Mayfield’s Madison Relyea took first place in the girls’ race at 18:32.66.

In the Wasaren League’s championship meet, Greenwich runners earned both individual winners and the girls’ squad won a team title.

Colin Beasor won the boys’ race in 16:11.52 and Brynne Wright took first place in the girls’ race in 18:36.47.

Berlin won the boys’ title.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.