<> High schools: Schoharie wins WAC girls' soccer title | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


High schools: Schoharie wins WAC girls' soccer title

High schools: Schoharie wins WAC girls' soccer title

Friday's non-football high school roundup
High schools: Schoharie wins WAC girls' soccer title

Katie Krohn connected for two goals to help Schoharie blank state eighth-ranked Canajoharie 3-0 and secure its sixth Western Athletic Conference girls’ soccer championship Friday.

Jacquelyn Sullivan added a goal on a head-ball direct kick. Carissa Palmatier had six saves for 10-0, 11-3 Schoharie. It was Canajoharie’s first loss of the season.

OESJ bounced Mekeel Christian Academy 6-1 behind two goals each from Ashley Engle, Alexis Mumford and Alexis Klock, while Ashlee Shelmandine made one save in goal for 8-2, 9-3-3 OESJ. Mia Biscotti scored on an assist from Madison Show to pace Mekeel.

Emily Senese and Kelsey Meca scored two goals apiece in Mayfield’s 8-0 shutout of Berne-Knox-Westerlo. Lindsey Hampton, Taryn LaFontaine, Kat Knecht and Anna Gates also scored for the Panthers, who had an 18-0 edge in shots.

In the Wasaren League, Sophie Phillips scored a pair of goals, and Taylor Stallmer, Lauryn Spiezio and Anna Headwell also found the net in Cambridge’s 5-0 victory over Saratoga Central Catholic.

Anne McKenna made six saves for Saratoga Catholic.

Annamarie Picirillo, Rylee O’Connor, Tanya Leggiero, Annika Nielsen and Morgan Nichter notched goals in Scotia-Glenville’s 5-0 win over Gloversville.

Alyssa Duval scored twice to push Fonda-Fultonville over Fort Plain 4-0.
Sierra Rose and Stella Williams also scored for the Braves.

In the Foothills Council, Queensbury coach Peter Crotty won his 300th game as the Spartans edged South Glens Falls 2-1.
Crotty has a 300-211-33 record in 29 seasons.

Brendan Duffy scored both Queensbury goals. Lanning Torebka had the South Glens Falls goal.

Hudson Falls beat Glens Falls 3-1 in overtime to capture the Falls Cup Trophy.

Shane Grimes, Carter Lewis and Michael Hunt scored for Hudson Falls (6-7, 8-8). Evan Wiggins scored for Glens Falls.

OESJ scored two goals in each half to down Mekeel Christian Academy 4-0 in the Western Athletic Conference.

Jack Brundage kicked in a pair of goals for OESJ. Braden Fredericks and Chinnakrit Aroontheerapoj also scored for OESJ. Mason Snell and Zach Mosher added assists.

Berne-Knox-Westerlo rode Zeke Pulliam’s goal in the 14th minute to a 1-0 triumph over Mayfield.

Andrew Drescher picked up the assist for the Bulldogs, who got 11 saves from keeper Tyler Goodermote. Evan Lehr stopped two shots for the Panthers.

Mike Lanfear tallied two goals, and Nick Budesheim added a goal and an assist as Schuylerville closed out its regular season with a 4-1 non-league win over Tamarac.

Shenendehowa blanked Bethlehem 2-0 in a Suburban Council match as both Grace DeChiro and Rachel Sterle scored goals for Shen. Abby Danson made one save for Shenendehowa, which improves to 14-1 and clinches the SC regular-season title.

Claire Skumurski scored the lone goal, and Julie Le-Blanc made four saves in goal to propel Niskayuna over Columbia 1-0.

Lindsey Frank scored one goal and assisted on the other to help Saratoga Springs defeat Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 2-0.

Molly Russell had the other goal for the 11-3, 13-3 Blue Streaks.

Caitlin Moony and Halle Risko provided the goals as Guilderland defeated Shaker 2-1.

Jaelyn Tanksley scored for 2-12 Shaker. Guilderland improves to 5-9.

In the Foothills Council, Sage Plemanik scored in overtime to spark Scotia-Glenville over Emma Willard 2-1.

Victoria Darling also scored for the Tartans. Molly Zahnleuter scored for Emma Willard.

In the Wasaren League, Stillwater topped Tamarac 21-25, 25-15, 25-16, 25-10, as Kyleigh Frank and Molly Sheehan combined for 12 kills. Frank also contributed five blocks for the 11-2, 13-2 Warriors.

Cassy Brown’s nine kills and six blocks lifted Broadalbin-Perth over Johnstown 25-18, 25-23, 25-14 in the Foothills Council.

Macey Salvione had 11 kills and 12 digs to propel Gloversville over Scotia-Glenville 25-14, 25-11, 25-10.

In non-league action, Jacqui and Racquel Gerstenberger totaled four aces each and combined for 31 service points in Cobleskill-Richmondville’s 25-13, 24-26, 
25-10, 25-21 win over Schoharie.

Caleb Federman and Erik Salo combined for 23 kills to power Bethlehem (12-1, 16-2) to a 25-20, 25-17, 25-17 victory over Colonie.

Garrett Myers and Mike Rogan contributed 12 kills each, and Quinn Montgomery added 22 assists as Saratoga Springs edged Niskayuna 25-18, 22-25, 25-8, 7-25, 15-7.

Bryce Berkoff had four kills for the Silver Warriors.

No. 1 singles player Haejin Lee won her match over Christine Lee as Shaker pounded Niskayuna 8-1 in the Section II Class AA Tournament championship match.
Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake won three of the five singles matches, including Veronica Fulgieri’s 6-1, 3-6, 6-2 win over Kaia Andersen, en route to a 4-3 Class A win over Ballston Spa in the championship match.

Ichabod Crane stopped Hudson Falls 5-2 in Class B in the championship match.

Shaker 8, Niskayuna 1

Singles: Haejin Lee (S) def. Christine Lee 6-4, 6-3; Taylor Crain (S) def. Isabel Van der Veen 6-3, 6-3; Aleesha Choudry (N) def. Rachel Gee 7-6 (1), 6-4; Olivia Zhou (S) def. Sydni Towe 7-6 (7-4), 7u-5; May Le (S) def. Anjalee Modrasra 6-4, 7-5. Doubles: Hulbert-Mendonca (S) def. Guo-Tang 6-4, 7-5; Leandry-Lewis (S) def. Guzman-Lightbody 6-1, 6-2; Kitner-Andrews (S) def. Lim-Obispo 6-2, 7-5.

Burnt Hills 4, Ballston Spa 3

Singles: Veronica Fulgieri (BH) def. Kaia Anderson 6-1, 3-6, 6-2; Gabby Gise (BS) def. Emma Nuzzi 5-7, 6-0, 6-2; Alizabeth Zarnofsky (BH) def. Madison Galvin 6-1, 4-6, 6-3; Rebecca Dudley (BH) def. Lucy Ehmann 6-2, 7-6 (7-5); Angelene Roberts (BS) def. Julia Paolino 4-6, 6-4, 6-4. Doubles: Rule-Ashby (BS) def. Schurman-Boussa 6-1, 7-5; Hopper-Mayden (BH) def. Cook-Heeney 6-1, 4-6, 6-3.

The state semifinals and championships could be returning to Cool Insuring Arena in Glens Falls in 2020 after a recommendation from the State Basketball Committee and officers from the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Friday.

The NYSPHSAA Executive Committee will have the final say when it votes on the matter in February.

Bids for the state event were submitted by Cool Insuring Arena, the Times Union Center and Floyd L. Maines Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, which will conclude its current three-year run of hosting the final four games this upcoming season.

Glens Falls had hosted the state final four games continuously for 36 years before the NYSPHSAA Executive Committee voted 14-8 to move the event to Binghamton beginning in 2017. Before that vote, the State Basketball Committee had backed Glens Falls and NYSPHSAA officials had backed Binghamton.

Coaches: To report scores and highlights from high school games, send results to [email protected]. Submissions accepted daily until 10:30 p.m.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In