<> Saratoga County declared StormReady | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Saratoga County declared StormReady

Saratoga County declared StormReady

In the Capital Region, other StormReady counties are Albany, Montgomery, and Schoharie

SARATOGA COUNTY — Saratoga County has received a StormReady designation from the National Weather Service, joining 31 other New York counties.


"Our residents should know that all of our departments are prepared to handle weather-related incidents, and that their safety is our top priority," said Halfmoon Supervisor Kevin Tollisen, chairman of the county Board of Supervisors.


The county recently updated its comprehensive emergency management and multi-jurisdiction all hazard mitigation plans, which include responses to flood, storms and other severe weather events.


The National Weather Service's StormReady certification program is a nationwide program. Being StormReady requires that a community has a 24-hour emergency operations center, multiple methods for notifying residents of severe weather warnings, and have a system for spotting severe weather, including ongoing storm spotter training for town and city emergency management, law enforcement and other first responders, and weather radios in county buildings.


In the Capital Region, other StormReady counties are Albany, Montgomery, and Schoharie.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.