<> Niskayuna players in national lacrosse event | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Niskayuna players in national lacrosse event

Niskayuna players in national lacrosse event

Behrman, D'Allaird among Section II selections
Niskayuna players in national lacrosse event
Niskayuna freshman Brock Behrman will represent Section II lacrosse in Baltimore.
Photographer: Erica Miller

Starting attackman Brock Behrman and first-string goalkeeper Drew D'Allaird of Section II Class A champion Niskayuna will be among a large cast of Section II players competing Thursday through Sunday at the Under Armour All-America Lacrosse Classic Weekend in Baltimore.

Behrman, who cracked Niskayuna's starting lineup as a freshman, will play for the Upstate New York Command team for 2022-23 graduates in the Under Armour All-America Underclass Tournament. D'Allaird, a junior, will play in the Uncommitted Games with those slated to graduate in 2020.

Both of the Niskayuna players came up with big efforts in an 11-6 Section II title-game win over Bethlehem, with Behrman collecting three goals and an assist, and D'Allaird making 15 saves. Niskayuna went 19-1 with the tandem as part of its lineup.

Joining Behrman on the UNY Command team will be Ben Fiori of Guilderland (long stick midfield), Matthew King of Section II Class B champion Ballston Spa (midfield) and Spencer Steinhardt of Albany Academy (attack).

Connor Cecala of Ballston Spa (long stick midfield) will play for the Upstate New York Highlight team for 2020-21 graduates.

The Upstate New York Command girls' team will include MK Lescault (midfield) of Section II Class C champion Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake and Caroline Reilly (defense) of state Class A semifinalist Bethlehem.

The UNY Highlight girls' team will include US Lacrosse All-American Samantha DeVito of Ballston Spa (midfield), Katherine MacEachron of Queensbury (defense) and Ciara Mazzone of Columbia (midfield).

Included on the boys' Uncommitted Games rosters will be Ben McHugh of Columbia (long stick midfield, 2020 graduate), Peyton Doyle of CBA (midfield, 2021), Riley Hegarty of Shaker (defense, 2021), John Serina of Ballston Spa (attack, 2022) and Louis Zalucky of Section II Class C champion La Salle (midfield, 2022).

Shenendehowa will have a pair of girls' Uncommitted Games representatives in Celia Ralph (defense, 2021) and Emery VanHeusen (defense, 2022).

Reach Gazette Sportswriter Jim Schiltz at 518-395-3143, [email protected] or @jim_schiltz on Twitter.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.