<> Incumbents sweep Clifton Park Town board race | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Incumbents sweep Clifton Park Town board race

Incumbents sweep Clifton Park Town board race

Republicans Standaert, Whelan reelected to their posts
Incumbents sweep Clifton Park Town board race
Town Councilwoman Amy Standaert and town Councilman James Whalen.
Photographer: Photos provided

CLIFTON PARK -- Two incumbent Republicans -- town Councilwoman Amy Standaert and Councilman James Whalen --  were re-elected to the Clifton Park Town Board on Tuesday, according to unofficial race results.

The victories mean that Whalen will be going into his third term, while Standaert will begin her second full term.

The two were vying for the seats against newcomer Kerensa Rybak, a Democrat. She conceded the race at about 10:30 p.m. via a Facebook post.

More: Election roundup: Capital Region race results 2019

"Folks, as I’m sure most of you know, we didn’t win this one," Rybak posted. "However, I don’t consider this a loss. For the first time in recent history, Clifton Park was given a choice, and people were given hope for some changes. I worked hard, but behind me was a team whose passion and enthusiasm is unparalleled. I have learned so much and met so many wonderful people in our community, and maybe, just maybe, the fact that our numbers were so close might spur someone else to take the reins next time and go bigger and farther than I could. And rest assured, Clifton Park, you haven’t seen the last of me."

Whalen and Standaert could not be immediately reached via phone late Tuesday night. Precise vote totals were also unavailable as of late Tuesday night.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.