<> Results from around Schenectady County: Republicans hold on to Glenville Town Board | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Results from around Schenectady County: Republicans hold on to Glenville Town Board

Results from around Schenectady County: Republicans hold on to Glenville Town Board

Democrats win contested seats on County Legislature
Results from around Schenectady County: Republicans hold on to Glenville Town Board
Voters cast their ballots during the first early elections at Niskayuna Town Hall in Niskayuna on Saturday, October 26, 2019.
Photographer: Erica miller/gazette photographer

SCHENECTADY COUNTY -- Republicans will retain control of the Glenville Town Board, after two GOP candidates won seats in Tuesday's election.

Unofficial results from the Schenectady County Board of Elections show that two-term incumbent Gina Wierzbowski won re-election with 3,511 votes, while James M. Martin received 3,196. Martin is a former Town Board member who was defeated two years ago in his re-election bid.

Trailing were Democrat Andrew Kohout, the village of Scotia public works superintendent, with 2,929 votes, and Democrat Eric Buskirk, with 2,806 votes.

The result means Republicans will retain a 3-2 majority on the Glenville Town Board for the next two years.

Kohout's village job was an issue in the race, with Republicans charging he would have a conflict of interest. Democrats said his knowledge about how municipal infrastructure works would be helpful to the town.

More: Election roundup: Capital Region race results 2019

In races for the county Legislature, in District 3 -- Glenville, Scotia and Niskayuna -- Democrat Sara Mae Pratt of Alplaus defeated Republican Richard C. Fritz Jr. of Niskayuna in a race for the remaining two years in the term of Rory Fluman, who resigned earlier this year to become county manager. Pratt now holds the seat by appointment.

In the regular election for two seats representing District 3, Democrats Thomas Constantine and Michelle Ostrelich, both incumbents from Niskayuna, easily defeated a Republican challenger, Juliano Febo of Glenville.

In District 4, which includes Rotterdam, Princetown and Glenville, Democrat Anthony Jasenski, the current chairman of the county Legislature, and Republican Brian McGarry won the two seats, with Democrat Matthew Martin finishing third and Republican Eric R. Hess trailing further behind. McGarry will remain the only Republican serving in the 15-member Legislature.

In Scotia, Democrat George Solotruck won a village trustee seat over Maria Peterson, who was on the Republican and Revitalize Scotia lines.

In Rotterdam, incumbent Town Board members Evan Christou and Samantha Miller-Herrara handily defeated Republicans Charles "Jack" Dodson and Emily Testa, with Green Party candidate Glenn Raymus far behind.

In Duanesburg, Republican incumbent Town Board members Frances Potter and John Ganther defeated Democrat Jennifer Barnes in their re-election bids; and Republican William Wenzel defeated Conservative Thomas G. Collins to fill the remaining two years in a vacant board seat.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.