<> Irabor, Behrman's staff recognized by Liberty League | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Irabor, Behrman's staff recognized by Liberty League

Irabor, Behrman's staff recognized by Liberty League

Sophomore running back is Offensive Player of the Year as one of 21 Dutchmen to earn all-league honors
Irabor, Behrman's staff recognized by Liberty League
Union running back Ike Irabor carries the ball against Westfield State.
Photographer: Erica Miller

Sophomore running back Ike Irabor was named the Liberty League Offensive Player of the Year, and head coach Jeff Behrman and his staff earned the league’s Coaching Staff of the Year honors to lead a program-record 21 members of the Union College football team earning All-Liberty League recognition, the conference office announced on Tuesday.

Irabor, a native of Braintree, Mass., led the Liberty League with 1,093 rushing yards during the regular season. His average of 121.4 yards per game is nearly twice that of the second-place rusher in the league and ranks 17th in Division III. With the season still not over, Irabor already ranks 10th in program history for most rushing yards in a season and is tied for seventh in program history for rushing touchdowns in a season with 15, a total that ranks 15th in D-III so far this season. He is the first Dutchman to earn the conference honor since Chris Coney in 2010.

Behrman inherited a team that went 0-10 during the 2015 season and in just four years has led the Dutchmen to a 10-0 regular season, the program’s fourth 10-0 regular season in program history. In his four years as head coach, the Dutchmen have won as many games (27) as the past seven seasons combined before Behrman’s arrival. It marks the first time since Union’s last NCAA Tournament team in 2006 that Union has earned conference Coaching Staff of the Year honors.

In addition to the major award winners, nine student-athletes were selected to the All-Liberty League First Team: Irabor (RB), Andre Ross Jr. (WR), Spencer Crystal (TE), Tim Driscoll (OL), Ryan Ehrets (OL), Vincenzo DiCaterino (DL), Daniel Gioioso (DL), Colin Lama (LB), and Will Halpin III (P).

Nine Dutchmen were named to the All-Liberty League Second Team: William Bellamy (QB), Joseph Ferreira (RB), Chris Katchadurian (OL), Max Langsam (OL), Evan Gilland (LB), Paul Chambers (DB), Austin St. Pierre (DB), Joe Vanderhoof (DB), and Kevin Rabacs (RS).

The Dutchmen, who are ranked 13th nationally by D3football.com and 14th by the AFCA, head into the postseason on Saturday, Nov. 23, hosting AFCA No. 25 Case Western Reserve University for the first round of the 2019 NCAA Division III Football Championship. Kick off is set for noon.

RPI defensive lineman Amaechi Konkwo was named to the Liberty League First Team, and Luke Kosciol (OL), Thomas Olausen (OL) and John Sadak (LB) made the Second Team.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.