<> Shenendehowa's Sykes on All-America soccer team | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Shenendehowa's Sykes on All-America soccer team

Shenendehowa's Sykes on All-America soccer team

Joins Mirkovic, Mendrysa on All-East Region team
Shenendehowa's Sykes on All-America soccer team
Shenendehowa senior Jaylin Sykes has been named a soccer All-American.
Photographer: Erica Miller

Shenendehowa senior striker Jaylin Sykes, who anchored the Plainsmen's run to the state Class AA final four, has been named to the United Soccer Coaches High School All-America Team.

Sykes was among 72 boys honored by the USC, and is Section II's first male All-American since Connor DeFilippis of Ballston Spa in 2015. Sykes is joined on the USC All-East Region Team by Niskayuna senior defender Oscar Mirkovic and CBA senior forward Jack Mendrysa.

Sykes was previously selected the Suburban Council Class AA Player of the Year and Section II Class AA co-Player of the Year after collecting 20 goals and six assists. He scored seven game-winning goals, including an overtime tally when Shenendehowa beat Bethlehem 1-0 in the Section II championship game.

Numerous honors were announced at the recent Section II season-ending boys' soccer banquet.

All-State Large School: Jaylin Sykes, 12, Shenendehowa; Jack Mendrysa, 12, CBA; Oscar Mirkovic, 12, Niskayuna; Teddy Borgos, 12, Queensbury; Ethan Shuhart, 12, Ballston Spa.

All-State Small School: Shaun Turnbull, 11, Voorheesville; Jack Rubinstein, 12, Stillwater; Ethan Knauf, 12, Lake George; Justin Pugliese, 12, Mechanicville; James Mitchell, 12, Greenville; Aidan Percy, 12, Maple Hill; Edgar Gomez, 11, Ichabod Crane; Zach Saddlemire, 12, Schuylerville.

Section II Players of the Year: Jaylin Sykes, Shenendehowa; Oscar Mirkovic, Niskayuna (Class AA); Teddy Borgos, Queensbury (Class A); Zach Saddlemire, Schuylerville (Class B); Shaun Turnbull, Voorheesville; Ian Reeve, Voorheesville (Class C); Tanner Lunt, Fort Ann; Dante Marin, Saratoga Central Catholic (Class D).

Section II Goalkeepers of the Year: Ethan Shuhart, Ballston Spa (Class AA); Sean Speck, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake (Class A); Nick Beevers, Cobleskill-Richmondville; Brady Eugair, Schuylerville (Class B); Aidan Percy, Maple Hill (Class C); Adam Winchell, Fort Ann (Class D).

Section II Coaches of the Year: Jon Bain, Shenendehowa; Phil Ridgway, Bethlehem (Class AA); Adam Cohen, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake (Class A); Dave Gauci, Schuylerville (Class B); Willie Sanchez, Voorheesville (Class C); Rich McCabe, Fort Ann; Steve Clapper, Northville (Class D).

Section II Sportsmanship: Guilderland (Class AA); Scotia-Glenville (Class A); Fonda-Fultonville (Class B); Chatham (Class C); Heatly (Class D).

Reach Gazette Sportswriter Jim Schiltz at 518-395-3143, [email protected] or @jim_schiltz on Twitter.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.