<> Nominations for second annual Eddies Awards announced | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login


Nominations for second annual Eddies Awards announced

Nominations for second annual Eddies Awards announced

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at 6 p.m. on Sunday, April 5

The nominees for the second annual Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards have been announced. 

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at 6 p.m. on Sunday, April 5, on the MainStage at Proctors.

This year’s group includes a number of nominees and winners from last year’s celebration, as well as some new entries including such well-known local artists as the blues/rock sibling duo Jocelyn & Chris Arndt, the folk group Lost Radio Rounders and country artist Marty Wendell.

The 34 categories reflect changes based on feedback from members of the music community. Several were eliminated and six new ones emerged: Metal / Hard Rock Artist of the Year, Country Cover Band of the Year, On the Verge Presenter of the Year, Best Hang, Music Recording Studio of the Year and Record Label of the Year.  

One more change from last year — the Thomas Edison Music Hall of Fame induction ceremony is being held separately from the Eddies Music Awards. The Accents, Blotto, The Fidelitys, Hal Ketchum, Lena Spencer and John Sykes were recently announced as the Class of 2020 inductees. 

A dinner and induction ceremony will be held for this group on Sunday, March 9, at Universal Preservation Hall in Saratoga.

The Eddies Music Awards nomination process involved 40 members of the music community including artists, members of the media and others working in the music industry. 

Roughly 100 local members of the music community have been invited to vote for winners among the nominees.

The Eddies Music Awards event on April 5 will feature performances by a number of artists across many genres, including several collaborations between acts. Performers will be announced in March.

The Daily Gazette’s Indiana Nash is among the nominees for Music Journalist of the Year, won last year by The Gazette’s Michael Hochanadel.


Here are 2020 Eddies Music Awards nominees:

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year
The Age
Jocelyn & Chris Arndt
Taina Asili
The Parlor
Sean Rowe
The Sea The Sea

 Alt / Indie Artist of the Year
The Abyssmals
Candy Ambulance
Pony in the Pancake
Sky Furrows
Punk Artist / Hardcore Artist of the Year
Blood Blood Blood
Brick by Brick
Eternal Crimes
Mystery Girl
Prince Daddy and the Hyena
Spell Runner

Metal / Hard Rock Artist of the Year
Black Electric
The Clay People
Dirt Church
Drug Church
Johnny Booth

Jam Band of the Year
Annie in the Water
Glass Pony
Hartley’s Encore
Let’s Be Leonard
The Purple Stuff

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year
Jocelyn and Chris Arndt
Bear Grass
Girl Blue
State Champs
Wild Adriatic

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (Cover)
Chris Dollard
Dos Amigos
PJ Duo
Erin Harkes
Carmen Lookshire
Rich Ortiz

Party Cover Band of the Year
The Accents
The AudioStars
Bad Chaperones
Funk Evolution
New York Players
The Refrigerators

 Country Cover Band of the Year
Big Sky Country
The Kyle Bourgault Band
Moonshine Junkies
Red Haired Strangers
Skeeter Creek
Whisky Highway

Country / Bluegrass Artist of the Year
Blind Crow
Dyer Switch Band
Jim Gaudet and the Railroad Boys
The Gibson Brothers
Three Quarter North
Marty Wendell

Americana Artist of the Year
Eastbound Jesus
The Lazy Suns
The Mckrells
The Nellies
North & South Dakotas
Zan & the Winter Folk

Blues Artist of the Year
Amy Ryan Band
Annie and the Hedonists
The George Fletcher Blues Band
The Resonators
Soul Sky
Wyld Blu

Folk / Traditional Artist of the Year
Drank The Gold
Lost Radio Rounders
Michael Jerling
John Kirk and Trish Miller
The Sea The Sea
Bob Warren

DJ of the Year
DeeJay Element
DJ Ketchup
DJ Siroc
DJ Trumastr
Intell Hayesfield

 Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year
JB aka Dirty Moses
Johnny 2 Phones
Promise the Unbreakable
Selli Paper

Electronica Artist of the Year
Bare Mattress
Horse Apples
Major Niño
Money Montage
Raisi K. (The Raisin Man)
Soo Do Koo
R&B / Soul Artist of the Year
The Age
Charles O’more
Pink Nois
Lee Reh
Souly Had
Victory Soul Orchestra

 World Music Artist of the Year
Taina Asili y La Banda Rebelde
Sten & Maria Z
Alex Torres & his Latin Orchestra

Classical Artist of the Year
Albany Pro Musica
Capital Region Wind Ensemble
Empire State Youth Orchestra
Musicians of Ma’alwyck
Saint Rose Camerata
Schenectady Symphony Orchestra

 Jazz Artist of the Year
Joe Barna
Michael Benedict
Peg Delaney
Chuck Lamb
Dylan Perrillo
Keith Pray
Promoter of the Year
Greg Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions)
Ted Etoll (Step Up Presents)
Mona Golub (Music Haven Concert Series)
Peter Lesser (The Egg)
Margie Rosenkranz (Eighth Step)

 “On the Verge” Presenter of the Year
Asylum Albany
Bee Sides Cassettes
Chateau Shows
Little Booking Agency
Place for Jazz
Super Dark Collective

Live Production Crew of the Year
Albany Audio
Denis Entertainment Group
High Peaks Sound
Live Sound Inc
Specialized Audio-Visual Inc.

 Record Label of the Year
Albany Records
Cacophone Records
Equal Vision
Five Kill Records
Magnetic Eye Records
Upstate Records

Best Hang
Desperate Annie’s
The Low Beat
Oh Bar
Olde English Pub
Speakeasy 518
Music Recording Studio of the Year
AAA Recording Studio
Blue Sky Recording
Don Fury Recording Studio
Hyland Recording
Overit Studios
White Lake Music & Post

Arts Publication of the Year
The Chronicle
The Collaborative
NYS Music
Preview (Times Union)
The Spot 518

Music Journalist of the Year 
Amy Biancolli
Katie Cusack
Michael Hallisey
Indiana Nash
Jim Shahen
Tamani Wooley

 Radio DJ of the Year
Brian and Chrissy WGNA
Art Fredette RadioRadioX
Andy Gregory WEXT
Bill McCann WCDB
Jeff Morad WEQX
Chris Wienk WEXT

Radio Station of the Year
Photographer of the Year
Frankie Cavone
Dave DeCresente
Rudy Lu
Andre Pilarczyk
Shannon Straney
Kiki Vassilakis

 Music Video of the Year
Jocelyn & Chris Arndt “Outta My Head”
Taina Asili “We Are Rising”
Buggy Jive “Another Song About the Moon”
The Clay People - “GenRX”
Front Biz “Little Mutants”
Joe Mansman and The Midnight Revival Band - “Blood/Grain/Cocaine”
pencildive “Cricket Man”
Prince Daddy & The Hyena “Lauren”

Record of the Year
Brother Hemlock “Good Ol Days”
TJ Foster “You are the Future”
Gibson Brothers “Cool Drink of Water”
Honey Slider “Ghostlighting”
Charles O’more “Nineteen + Won”
Sam Reed ft. The Heavenly Echos “Prophet”
David Tyo “Long Way Home”
Madison Vandenberg “What I’m Looking for”

Album of the Year
Jocelyn and Chris Arndt “The Fun in the Fight”
Taina Asili “Resiliencia”
Bright Dog Red “How’s By you?”
Candy Ambulance “Traumantic”
The Figgs “Shady Grove”
JB!! aka Dirty Moses “Libations”
Jim Gaudet “Real Stories and Other Tall Tales”
Prince Daddy and the Hyena “Cosmic Thrill Seekers”

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.